Skip to content

ANZAC Day Preparations

23/04/2010

No beautiful handmade creations today, I’m sorry – I have my other ‘hat’ on this morning, that of naval officer. I’ve just been to the base to pick up the wreath that I will lay on Sunday 25 April, ANZAC Day here in NZ and Australia, to remember those who fought and died for us in conflict. I’m parading at two services on Sunday – as Parade Commander at the naval base first, with pipes and drums, which will be exciting. Then we’ll march at Northcote, at our local service, with my next door neighbor Basil, who fought with the Air Force in WWII. For me, that’s what the day is really about. (He’ll be 88 two days later.)

So I’ll be back on Sunday with photos from that. Until then, have a great weekend – and happy stamping!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 24/04/2010 07:05

    Enjoy the day Bron. ANZAC day is big in my family too, coming from a military background. I always find the Dawn Parades a very moving experience. I wear the poppy to remember family members and other service men and women who are no longer with us.

  2. Steph permalink
    24/04/2010 09:32

    The picture of a poppy says it all.

Leave a Reply

