Skip to content

Birthdays and Thank You’s

16/05/2010

There are a few birthdays this month (like most months!) that need special recognition, and also some ‘thank you’ cards to give.

So over the next few days I’ll show you some of my latest projects, starting today with a birthday card for my nearly-10-year-old nephew. Jake is the eldest of the grandchildren on my side, and he and I got to hang out a bit when he was little, whenever I was home from sea. He is a gorgeous kid, a real all-rounder, and I’m very proud of him.

I wanted to make him a more sophisticated card, because he’s not a baby, but not yet a man either.  I was discussing this with my friend and fellow Stampin’ Up! demo, Paula, and she described a card she’d seen recently, but couldn’t remember who made it. (I have since searched several sites to see if I could find it, but had no joy. If this was your original idea – thank you. I love it.)

It uses one of the new sets ‘Lots of Bots’, which is a cool set that is ideal for masculine cards, but with the right colours, can also be used for feminine ones too. I’ve stamped the main image in Basic Black, as well as the nuts and bolt on the envelope and card inner. The nuts and bolt on the Kraft card base have been stamped in Sahara Sand (it gave just a bit more emphasis than the Versamark). I matted the main image on Basic Black card, which I crimped first, for a bit of 3D magic. Too easy!

And I made the envelope out of Kraft cardstock too, to complement the card. I was pleased with the overall ‘blokey-ness’ of this card, and think Jake will like it too.

Come back tomorrow for a more girly, ‘fancy-fold’ birthday card.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Steph permalink
    16/05/2010 20:07

    Great card. Really like how you’ve used these stamps.

Leave a Reply

