Skip to content

Birthday Blessings

26/09/2010

It’s 0800 Sunday morning here – in New Zealand, daylight saving started early this morning, so really it’s only 0700 (spring forward, fall back). All I know is, it sure doesn’t feel like 0800!

I had to make a special birthday card yesterday, for our friend and Stampin’ Up! team leader, Jacque. I’d seen the sketch challenge in Just Add Ink and the colour inspiration on Stamping 411, and knew I wanted to combine the two (then cursed quietly to myself for not buying some of that gorgeous Newsprint DSP, which would be perfect here).

Here’s the sketch:

And here are the colours:

And… here is what I made:

The sentiment is from Occasional Quotes (a Level 3 hostess set), and the flowers are from a gorgeous set called Printed Petals. The butterfly stamp is from Flight of the Butterfly, popped out using the butterfly punch and stuck to the card using a mini glue dot (after I’d sponged around the edges using Pink Pirouette ink). 

I have to admit to feeling a little unusual using black – I don’t use black ink a lot at all. Perhaps that should change…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 26/09/2010 12:45

    Beautiful card Bron.

  2. 26/09/2010 12:55

    This is really sweet, Bron. I love the softness of the Pink Pirouette against the bold black images – really lovely.

  3. 26/09/2010 14:00

    Hi Bron, i love this, it is right up my alley, clean, simple and elegant

  4. 27/09/2010 00:44

    a pretty card that looks clean and simple.

  5. 27/09/2010 01:58

    Absolutely stunning! I love the clean and simple feel, with this gorgeous color combination!

  6. 28/09/2010 03:41

    Beautiful. I love how you’ve kept the dots going on the flowers and the butterfly. 🙂

  7. Steph permalink
    28/09/2010 09:01

    Black and pink look soooo good together – great card.

  8. 29/09/2010 01:45

    So elegant! Love this to bits Bron, that colour combo is mint too.

Leave a Reply

