Skip to content

Robot Birthday

11/03/2011

Wow, two posts in one day! 🙂 I had to make a birthday card tonight for a family friend who has his birthday tomorrow. I saw the Just Add Ink challenge up for this week – a sketch, here:

And the Stamping 411 colour challenge, here:

I wondered about both the colours and the sketch for a masculine card, but added that as an extra personal challenge… and came up with this:

The square lattice embossing folder is an absolute must for me when it comes to ‘boy cards’, and everything I make right now has an Itty Bitty Button on it! I tailored the card to fit the new open-ended envelopes from Stampin’ Up! – they’re not that big, so neither is my card. But I know that when it’s opened tomorrow, it will be received with a very grateful heart. And that’s all that matters.

(Oh yes – I made chocolate cupcakes tonight for tomorrow’s Extravaganza, and have put one aside for a personal birthday cake for him, too. Our little boys will love putting a candle on it and singing him happy birthday! 🙂 )

Have a great weekend!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/03/2011 10:00

    Cute image. Love what you did with the sketch.

  2. 12/03/2011 12:36

    Great card, Bron! The colours and texture are just perfect.

  3. 13/03/2011 00:46

    Great boy card, i like what you have done with the embossing folders (2 layers)

  4. 13/03/2011 07:59

    Hi Bron this a stunning card.
    I have awarded you with a Blog Award.
    Pop over to my blog to pick it up.

  5. 13/03/2011 08:29

    Oh my Goodness! What a perfect card for a boy!! Love all the texture Bron. A great take on this weeks sketch – thanks for playing at JAI ♥

  6. Steph permalink
    13/03/2011 08:38

    Love it – great job interpreting the sketch and edited beautifully. The itty bitty button is the perfect finishing touch.

  7. chantell16 permalink
    13/03/2011 11:42

    Hey Bron, What a great Birthday Card…..I love that Lattice Embossing – your right – it’s perfect for boys / men. Chantell

  8. 14/03/2011 14:05

    I would have wondered about the colours for a male card … but you worked them all beautifully! I would love a chocolate cup cake … right about now!!! Thanks for giving me a craving! (NOT) Hugs xxaxx

  9. 15/03/2011 19:01

    love your robotic boy card, what FUN! and I am in LOVE with that lattice EF as well.

  10. 16/03/2011 15:26

    What a great card for a guy Bron – All the texture looks great and you can’t go wrong with a robot 🙂

  11. 16/03/2011 23:25

    Great card Bron, perfect for a boy 🙂

  12. 17/03/2011 10:16

    Very clever. Just adorable. This is a great boy card.

    Liam

Leave a Reply

