Skip to content

89 candles…

26/04/2011

At least, that’s how many candles there should be on Basil’s cake tomorrow! My gorgeous neighbour will be 89 – and he gets around like a man many years younger. You may remember from my post here, that he was a POW in WWII, and we do ANZAC Day together each year now. With him being Air Force, and us Navy, there’s a bit of inter-service rivalry goes on over the hedge! (But then I remind him that the navy is the Senior Service – and he has no comeback to that!).

ANYWAY… I wanted to make Basil a card tonight, and fortunately the new sketch challenge on Try Stampin on Tuesday had been posted. I must admit, it’s a tricky one this week, and this is by no means the most favourite card I’ve ever made… but I know it will be appreciated for the thought that it is.

Here’s the sketch:

And here’s my card:

I feel like it needs something to bring it all ‘together’ – but I’m coming up blank. So this will suffice, and I’ll go and write some nice words on the card in the scallop envelope. See you later! xx

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 26/04/2011 22:45

    Very pretty. Love the colours. You obviously did not have the trouble I had. Thanks for playing at Try Stampin’.

  2. 26/04/2011 23:24

    WOW Bron! You are speedy–LOL! Thanks for playing along!

  3. Tanya Bell permalink
    27/04/2011 09:54

    Hey Bron …. love this, I struggle with the ‘male’ card but this sketch is great for it! Don’t you just love the square lattice embossing folder … it is just the right touch!
    Cheers, T

  4. 27/04/2011 14:23

    I think it’s great! ( I’m also in the ranks of struggling with the masculine card. I always think it would look more finished with ribbon or bling! ) I think the embossing adds just the right touch!

  5. 27/04/2011 17:06

    What an amazing card Bron! I love it!

  6. Steph permalink
    01/05/2011 20:10

    I bet Basil was chuffed.

Leave a Reply

