Skip to content

Elegant Birthday

12/09/2011

The only sad part about moving house next week is that we will be leaving some fabulous neigbours. After more than 7 years here (the longest I’ve ever lived anywhere in my life!), I have become really attached to our community. Even though we’ll only be 5 minutes’ drive away, we won’t be right next door to these wonderful people.

Today is Irene’s 88th birthday. She and Basil are really dear to us, and I will miss them terribly. Being the last birthday that we are next door to them, I wanted to make her card something special. This is where Stamping 411’s sketch came in handy!

I took some of the delicious new Mocha Morning specialty paper, and the new Crumb Cake taffeta ribbon, and made this…

But I also wanted the envelope to be special, and was really inspired by a picture in the new Idea Book and Catalogue – so I CASEd it!

The little boys and I delivered this before school today, after I’d secured the envelope with a piece of linen thread between the two antigue brads. It was accompanied by a rousing rendition of ‘Happy Birthday’; I’m not sure which Irene liked most!

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/09/2011 13:26

    You nailed your breif and made very special card.
    And wow what a delivery, what more would Irene want but 2 handsome boys singing Happy Birthday to here.
    Irene and Basil will miss you dearly as well.
    Big Hugs from all of us to all of you xoxoxoxoxo

  2. 12/09/2011 16:44

    You did a lovely job on both the card and envelope. I too have admired that envelope. Gorgeous!

  3. Steph permalink
    13/09/2011 10:01

    Beautiful card and envelope Bron. I have a feeling your neighbours are going to miss you terribly.

  4. 15/09/2011 00:22

    Both are gorgeous, but I think I have envelope envy. Wowza!!!

  5. 15/09/2011 23:55

    These are absolutely stunning. I love how the envelope mirror’s what you have going on with the card! So fun, so beautiful. Moving is NEVER easy… I’ll say some prayers that it will be as uneventful as possible… (((hugs))) Thanks for taking the time to play along with stamping 411 this week.

  6. 16/09/2011 08:58

    So pretty and that envelope is fabulous! I am sure that she loved both the card and the serenade that went with it!!

Leave a Reply

