Skip to content

Masculine Medallion Birthday

13/09/2011

I had intended to start packing up my craft room this morning, but with getting a car to the garage and a son to the doctor, my plans were way laid. All for good reason, as it turns out…

Being a member of a couple of online stamping groups, we occasionally get asked to help with RAKs (Random Acts of Kindness). Today, one of the members sent an e-mail telling of a US soldier posted to Afghanistan, who in his two years of deployment so far, has not received any mail – no cards, no care packages, no letters – nothing. This struck a chord with me. Having been on several operational deployments with the navy, I know that the one thing everyone on board looks forward to is the mailbag! (I was blessed with wonderful parcels from home, especially when we were stationed up around the Middle East.) The fact that it is his birthday on 02 October sealed the deal for me, so this afternoon I made this:

I wanted texture, and made my first medallion to go on it too. I love the Mocha Morning Specialty DSP – there are designs to suit both masculine and feminine projects.

If anyone else wants to make a card, or send something small to this man serving in Afghanistan, please leave me a comment or send me an e-mail (theheslops@slingshot.co.nz), and I’ll send you his details. I’d love to think that this person, whatever his situation, however old/young he may be, will know that people care and are grateful that he is fighting the war on terror on our behalf.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 13/09/2011 18:00

    What a fabulous card Bron! I really love these accordion medallions too – simple to make but they look great! Please forward the soldiers details to me so I can put something in the post for him too. I can certainly relate to what you’re saying about looking forward to the mailbag when you’re deployed overseas 🙂

  2. 13/09/2011 22:02

    Hi Bron – love this card and I’m sure the recipient will too. I too know what’s it’s like when you’re away from home how much you treasure getting mail. Can you please send me his details. This is what paper crafting is all about.

  3. 14/09/2011 01:14

    I would be honored to send one to our soldier. Please forward his address. I do not have anyone in my family that has done any type of tour duty but after watching the new tv shows “Coming Home” and another one you really get a sense of what sacrifice these men give to protect us. Thanks for sharing.

  4. June Abbott permalink
    14/09/2011 12:24

    Beautiful card Bron, I am sure it will be well appreciated. How sad to think the poor soldier has no-one to send him mail or care packages when he is so far away from home doing his duty. I would love to send him something,so please send me his details.

  5. Steph permalink
    15/09/2011 14:18

    What a lovely card and such a kind thought Bron.

Trackbacks

  1. A Cheerful Treat « Stamp with Me!

Leave a Reply

