Skip to content

Hospital, Birthdays and……Crafting!

24/01/2010

This week has been a rough one in the Heslop house – both our sons and my husband were ill with a rotavirus since Monday night, requiring round-the-clock nursing, and even resulting in an ambulance ride to hospital for Ollie (3), on Wednesday night (James’s 5th birthday!).

Everyone was so ill, we cancelled James’s birthday party (which was supposed to have been yesterday). Thank goodness I didn’t get sick, as all three boys really did need looking after (especially the little ones), and there was plenty of washing to do (I did 5 loads on Tuesday alone!)……. but I sure missed my stamping!

SO…… I got a reprieve last night from all the laundry, and closed myself in my craft room for a couple of hours. I was motivated by two things – Just Add Ink’s first colour challenge, and by Tracey Old’s latest UStamp project (I’m a bit of a fan of Tracey’s work – she makes beautiful things, and she’s a Kiwi to boot!).

Here is the first card I made, to fulfill both categories. The colours required for the Just Add Ink challenge were these:

And because I liked Tracey’s style of card so much, I made another, using Elegant Eggplant, Lavender Lace and Basic Grey.

The first one is for a client of Nigel’s, who gave the boys some gorgeous clothes for Christmas. And the second one is for one of his colleagues at work, who just got engaged – congrats, Carrie!

And I’ll leave you with one last picture – the cake I made James yesterday, to his specifications. Thankfully my son has simple tastes – a cake decorator I am not! But he was thrilled – and that’s all that matters.

Happy stamping! 🙂

14 Comments leave one →
  1. 24/01/2010 11:53

    Hope your poor boys are better soon, Bron, what a week you’ve had! I am sure the cake was enjoyed by all and happy birthday James! Love the cards too – especially the challenge one; the way you’ve combined the colours looks great.

  2. daffyscrapper permalink
    24/01/2010 12:26

    Rough week Bron. Hope your boys are back racing round soon. I finally got some creating done last night too.

  3. 24/01/2010 12:30

    i hope the family recovers quickly. your card it lovely!

  4. 24/01/2010 15:44

    Hi Bron, Thinking of you and your family – I hope everyone recovers very quickly. It’s hard to do anything but worry when you have sick kids, so I sympathise with you. Thanks for creating something truly gorgeous all the same though, I hope you’ll come back next week to show off your talents at Just Add Ink! xx Amanda

  5. 24/01/2010 16:19

    Hi Bron! (great name!).. This type of card looks fun to do. You’ve done a great take with the colour combo. Thanks for supporing the JAI site amidst your busy and difficult week. Stamping is great therapy!!

  6. chantell16 permalink
    24/01/2010 18:27

    Oh dear what we week!! I hope everyone recovers quickly. Glad you got a moment to join in with this challenge. Love your cards – I’ve been looking at Seeing Spots in my cupboard since about September….trying to use it…so will use this as inspiration. Love your cake too. Thank you. Chantell

  7. 24/01/2010 19:11

    Love the cards & glad I got the diagnosis right unfortunately for you guys

  8. fiandneez permalink
    25/01/2010 07:58

    Rotavirus is not pleasant – glad you managed to avoid it and hope the boys feel better soon. How awful – it’s never good timing. But your cards are lovely, and the cake looks fab.

  9. 25/01/2010 08:22

    Poor you Bron. I hope all of your boys are feeling better by now. Your cards are lovely (as usual) and you made a fantastic job of the cake!!

  10. 25/01/2010 11:08

    Bron so sorry to hear how sick your family have been, but thank goodness you were able to avoid it. Your Son must have been upset having his party cancelled. The cake is amazing!! I love your cards, and your take on Tracey’s card. It’s great!! 🙂

  11. 25/01/2010 15:06

    Oh Bless! Just look at that picture of Ollie in the Hospital bed, poor wee fella! You were a star for your family last week Bron, I hope they know how lucky they are to have you around to take care of them all. Great cards too, love the colours in that challenge may have to have a play myself!

  12. 26/01/2010 01:15

    Hi Bron, you’re just amazing! With a sick family, all that washing, a birthday (and that cake looks good to me!) and just life in general, you still managed to make some gorgeous cards! I hope everyone is recovering well.

    I really love the way you’ve used the colours in our challenge. Looking forward to seeing back again!

  13. 26/01/2010 12:38

    Sorry to hear your boys were so sick Bron, but glad to hear everyone’s on the mend. Gorgeous bd cake……….. lucky little boy, and beautiful cards. Glad you got some moments for these creations and your post!

  14. 27/01/2010 15:08

    You have done well with such a sick family!! Glad they are on the mend! That cake is amazing!
    How can you go wrong with that style of card! he he! Love your card it looks fantastic:-)
    Tracey xx

Leave a comment