Skip to content

Just Add……Chocolate!

22/08/2010

OK, so it’s actually Stampin’ Up!s Chocolate Chip, Real Red and Kraft (soon to be Crumb Cake) – the colour challenge on Just Add Ink this week. And I got to play!

I try to take part in the Technostamper Monday Lunchtime Sketch Challenge when I can too – and last night I thought the colours from Just Add Ink and the sketch from TSSC went really well together.

And here is what I came up with – a Fathers Day card for my Dad (I think I’m pretty safe putting this here, as I’m sure he doesn’t visit my blog. Don’t show him, Mum, OK?) I’m blessed that I have three Fathers Day cards to make each year (one for each of our Dads, and one for Nigel, from the boys). So one down, two to go.

The sentiment is from the Occasional Greetings stampset, which I am so pleased is staying in the new Stampin’ Up! 2010-2011 Idea Book and Catalogue (10 days and counting!). I distressed the edges of the sentiment slightly, and sponged them with Chocolate Chip ink.  The Real Red layer under the sentiment was stamped in Versamark using the Medallion background stamp, and heat embossed with clear embossing powder. And the bottom Real Red layer was dry embossed using the Perfect Polkadots embossing folder in the Big Shot. I added a piece of Chocolate Chip 1/4 ” grosgrain ribbon and a Soho eyelet, and layered it up using Stampin’ Dimensionals.

And here’s the inside:

A teaser from a new stampset to be available from 01 September!

Have a lovely Sunday!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 22/08/2010 15:39

    Hi Bron! A really nice masculine card! I really like the way you have used the medalion stamp as a background and I love your brown button too!

  2. 22/08/2010 17:44

    This is a fabulous masculine card! I like what you’ve done with the Medallion stamp in the background. I’m sure your Dad will love it!!

  3. 22/08/2010 17:53

    Great Card Bron, I agree both of the other comments I love Medallion Stamp background.

  4. Belinda permalink
    22/08/2010 18:54

    Looks great…love the simplisity!

  5. 22/08/2010 20:40

    Love it Bron!! The medallion embossed like that just makes this card pop!

  6. 22/08/2010 23:28

    Great card … love how you have used the Medallion stamp with the embossing …. love it!!!

  7. 23/08/2010 06:33

    What a great Fathers Day card! (I haven’t even started mine yet!) Love the use of the eyelet. What guy doesn’t like hardware 🙂

  8. 23/08/2010 14:59

    Very cool, what a great card. You are right you are blessed. I miss my Dad, but I can still make cards for my hubby from my son and me. Thanks so much for playing along, great card and great job combining the two challenges!

  9. 23/08/2010 15:05

    you had me at ‘CHOCOLATE’ lol – a great project hun very yummy!

  10. 24/08/2010 02:53

    Oooh, I love how you’ve used the Medallion!! Fabulous!

  11. mary permalink
    24/08/2010 10:46

    No, I won’t show him! I love the sentiment, esp today….we have the Red Cross AGM (local) this pm and he has been nominated for President, he’d make a good one as he has lots of good ideas. Hope the voting goes his way!!!

  12. 25/08/2010 02:10

    This is such a great bold masculine card, I love it!

  13. 25/08/2010 14:24

    Great job on a masculine card! I like all the layers you have got on there, but the clear embossed Medallion layer particularly caught my eye.

Leave a comment