Skip to content

Birthdays with Bling!

11/10/2010

This week on Just Add Ink the challenge is pink and bling! It’s October, when we place more emphasis on breast cancer awareness. I think we all know someone who has been affected by this horrible disease, and it doesn’t discriminate – anyone can get it. Thankfully today it doesn’t have to be a death sentence – I have friends who have had it and are kicking around with their kids just like anyone else. But you have to catch it early – so remember to check your breasts!

ANYWAY…. we have a couple of girly birthdays this week, one for a very dear friend who has known me since I was 3, and another for our friends’ daughter who is 2 today! I used the same colour (one of  the new in-colours, Blushing Bride) and the same layout for this card (from the Technostamper Monday Lunchtime Sketch Challenge, and just varied the stampsets (as there are about 60 years between the recipients!)

Here’s the sketch:

And here’s the first card – the stamps are from the Vintage Vogue and Teeny Tiny Sentiments stampsets. I used the Big Shot to emboss the Blushing Bride DSP with dots, and the Modern Label Punch to mount the sentiment on.  The ‘bling’ here is one of Stampin’ Up!s new adhesive pearls – very classy.

And a wee peek inside…..

I love co-ordinating the envelope and the inside of the card with the front. Stampin’ Up!s envelopes are made from Whisper White or Very Vanilla, and have the same tight finish as the cardstock, so they’re fabulous for getting a crisp, clear image.

And here’s Sasha’s card. Her Daddy calls her ‘Monkey’, so I thought this image from ‘Fox and Friends’ would go down well, spiced up with a new adhesive rhinestone:

Quite quick and easy, especially as the tools and colours were already out. Now I’m off to work on my guest designer project for Jacque’s monthly challenge….. thank goodness school started back today!

Have a great day!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/10/2010 16:08

    This are both adorable. I agree about everyone know someone. If you count all cancers I bet one in 6 of my friends have had or have it. Crazy, really makes you wonder what we are doing so different–what is in all those convenient foods and products? Thanks so much for playing along this week.

  2. 11/10/2010 16:28

    You put the rest of us to shame Bron. I reckon you must be the best and most frequent blogger and you always have something wonderful to show us. Love this card and particular love the way you have embossed the DSP – it’s really different.

  3. 11/10/2010 17:11

    These are both really lovely. Amazing how you can make two cards with the same ingredients, but get two totally different age groups, just by changing the stamp image! Clever Chickie!

  4. 11/10/2010 20:09

    super pink and blingy Bron!! so cool!!!

  5. 11/10/2010 22:30

    Love what you’ve done here Bron! Great idea using the same design but different images. I’ll have to file this idea away for future reference.

  6. 12/10/2010 08:11

    Gorgeous cards Bron. Happy stamping to you today!

  7. 13/10/2010 02:09

    These are both fabulous! I think the first is my favourite, but I always love the monkey from Fox and Friends too!

  8. 13/10/2010 21:21

    I love how you have embossed the background – that looks effective! Thanks for sharing!

  9. Steph permalink
    15/10/2010 13:47

    The embossing raises it to another level. Just lovely.

Leave a comment