Skip to content

Just Add Ink meets Father’s Day

05/09/2010

Here in New Zealand it’s Father’s Day! Happy Father’s Day to all the Dad’s in our lives. My husband is enjoying a sleep-in while I’m writing this – despite the boys’ best efforts to go jump on him with their cards.

I haven’t crafted at all this week, so last night was a great opportunity to just get some ‘needed’ cards done. My first card was inspired by the sketch over at Just Add Ink.  This is weekly challenge #33 for those girls – they are going strong! (My buddy Paula is on their Design Team now; we joined Stampin’ Up! at the same time last year, she in Wellington and me here in Auckland. We’d never met before Stampin’ Up! convention in Sydney in May, but have become great friends over the year. I forgot to mention her specifically in yesterday’s post, but she certainly warrants a mention!)

Anyway, here’s the sketch:

 

And, as usual, my very simple take on it (just reversed. Note to self: don’t rely on your memory when crafting to sketches!)

The sentiment has been clear embossed – I have been meaning to try this, where you coat your stamp in Versamark first, then in the coloured ink (here, Real Red). Next stamp the image, cover with clear embossing powder and use your heat tool to set it. So I’ve got a very glossy red sentiment (though you can’t see it here.) A bit of ribbon (both retired, as I’m waiting for the new ribbon to arrive), and it was done. This is  for my father-in-law.

This one is for my husband:

He loves Crumb Cake (formerly known as Kraft) cardstock, and I had the gorgeous Medallion stamp out already. I also wanted to play with the Movers and Shapers die in the Big Shot, which gave me the window in the card. The Medallion image has been clear embossed (last night, if it didn’t move it was embossed!). I used the Curly Label punch to pop out the sentiment (done here using a phrase from Teeny Tiny Sentiments in Not Quite Navy ink). Another simple card – but you know me by now, I’m a simple girl!

And the piece de resistance today – a creation not made by me, but by our eldest son James, for his Dad. A lot of love went into this:

I gave him some retired cardstock, a couple of punches and some Tombow glue – and he created this. I know this will be his Dad’s favourite.

This morning, we especially think of all those in Christchurch who were shaken early yesterday with the earthquake, many of whom are without power, water and whose homes have been badly damaged. A different sort of Father’s Day for them down there……

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/09/2010 09:27

    As always lovely cards Bron though it looks like you are going to get some competition from James! Didn’t he do well? Hope your hubby has a wonderful day.

  2. 05/09/2010 13:16

    Your creations are just gorgeous as usual Bron! I love what James has done for Dad. Isn’t that the most precious memory to keep? I bet Nigel loved it. I think you need to start grooming him to take over your empire when he is old enough to do so!

  3. craftyhelen permalink
    05/09/2010 14:06

    James your card is very beautiful, I know your Dad will treasure it.
    Bron as always your cards are great also.

  4. 05/09/2010 22:13

    These are lovely Bron – and yes, you do have some competition from James. He did an awesome job! Hope Hubby had a fab day with you all.

  5. chantell16 permalink
    06/09/2010 00:54

    Love them all Bron. Especially love the Medallion Card and how you have placed the Sentiment in the hole. James has made a great card for his Dad. I love the colourful birds and Hearts. Very special.
    I ditto your thoughts for those in Chch. I’m also wondering how my friends are getting on down there. I have been watching on the news and via internet news too. My thoughts are with them.
    Chantell

  6. 06/09/2010 15:52

    Lovely cards Bron …. I am really enjoying viewing your creations …. and yes… I agree, you certainly have a budding artist on your hands, would love to see more of his creations too!!!

  7. Steph permalink
    07/09/2010 15:43

    My husband missed Fathers’ Day (blame the international date line), but your cards are inspiring. So impressed with James’ effort.

  8. 09/09/2010 13:56

    Love both your cards – they work brilliantly for masculine cards. LOVE James’ card!

Leave a comment